Loading Events

Virtual Forum

The results of the Honduran primary elections and their implications for democracy

Date:

April 8, 2021

Time:

11:00am CST

Location:

Online

Cost:

Free

Summary

On March 14, Honduras held its primary elections. According to the National Electoral Council (CNE), voting anomalies were found in nearly 18% of tally sheets.

Several candidates who received the most votes have been linked to acts of corruption and/or drug trafficking. Moreover, the electoral process has been characterized by candidates’ hostile rhetoric.

What implications do these results have for the upcoming general elections on November 28, and for Honduran democracy?

Duration: 75 minutes

10:00am PDT
11:00am Central America
1:00pm EDT

Speakers

Charles Call

Associate Professor

School of International Service, American University

Jennifer Ávila

Director and Co-Founder

Digital outlet ContraCorriente

Julieta Castellanos

Former Rector

National Autonomous University of Honduras (UNAH)

Pedro Barquero

President

Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Cortés (CCIC)

Moderator

Mirte Postema

Project Manager

Anti-Impunity Fund, Seattle International Foundation (SIF)