Events

Events

Events

Events

Events

Events

Upcoming Events

March 11, 2021

Elections and Democracy in Central America

The new political reality in El Salvador and its challenges for democracy

On February 28, President Nayib Bukele’s Nuevas Ideas political party was a decisive winner in El Salvador’s legislative elections. Having gained a two-thirds majority, the governing party now holds unprecedented power.

During Bukele’s presidency, El Salvador’s homicide rate has dropped to its lowest levels in years while COVID-19 infections have remained relatively under control. However, Bukele’s term has also been characterized by populist rhetoric, confrontations with public institutions, the politicization of the armed forces and the national police, and attacks on civil society organizations and media.

What challenges does this new political reality pose for El Salvador’s democracy?

This event will be conducted in English and Spanish, with simultaneous translation available.

10:00 am PDT
12:00 pm CST
1:00 pm EST