Loading Events

Online forum

Youth Movements and the Fight against Corruption in Central America

Date:

September 16, 2020

Time:

11:00am-12:30pm CST

Location:

Online

Cost:

Free

Summary

Hundreds of young people in Honduras and Guatemala have been protesting online and on the streets in response to a lack of transparency in public institutions. Independent media and youth-led civil society organizations have denounced numerous corruption scandals in Central American governments. The COVID-19 crisis has exposed the pervasiveness of corruption in the region and revealed the role hundreds of citizens have played in combatting it.

In this webinar, prominent Central American youth will discuss their experiences in the fight against corruption and impunity in Central America.

The webinar will be broadcast in Spanish via Zoom at 11:00am (Central America time)/10:00am (PDT)/1:00pm (EDT). You will receive a link after completing your registration, which is free.

To register, click the "Register" button above on this page.

Speakers

Álex Arévalo Carvajal

Vice President

Jóvenes Iberoamericanos, El Salvador

Álvaro Montenegro

Member

Alianza por las Reformas, Guatemala

Douglas Castro

Member

Alianza Universitaria Nicaragüense

Gabriela Blen

Director

Ayudamos Honduras

Moderators

Claudia Ortiz

Lawyer and Activist in Central America